friday legalese wrap up

The Law School offers a Career Perspective Lecture and Lunch on Fridays, so there was no Bento today because I also woke up quite late and didn’t really have time to make one for The Mathematician.

Instead, on Fridays I thought I might make a few reflections on the student side of things.

This was my first official week as a Law Student and if anyone out there is thinking about going to law school you should know that people aren’t kidding when they say that there is a lot of reading. I mean A LOT. But I wouldn’t believe everything you hear about law school being a competitive free for all or teachers being out to humiliate you. My experience so far has been that most of the other students just want to learn and most of the teachers just want to help you do that. I’ve also found 2Ls and 3Ls to be very generous with the time and advice.

The hardest thing for me so far has been finding the balance between reading and real life. I’m finding that a lot of other students are struggling with this too.

The last reflection I have is about Legislation and Regulation. Not all law schools have this course as a required 1L course; in fact, most law school do not. I was surprised to see it, and now that I am a week in, I am surprised that the school doesn’t mention it as a huge benefit earlier on in the admissions process. Basically, the course is designed to introduce students to the “non-court” places that laws and regulations come from. As someone interested in Agency and policy work, I find this stuff especially fascinating, but it also seems to me the course most related to the normal person’s daily life. Most things you encounter are regulated by some agency, from the smoke detectors in your home to the seat belts in your car. So I predict that this is the class I will have the most fun in.

Leave a comment