bento one

Today we tried our first bento boxes for lunch. Thanks to a lot of prep yesterday (washing and cutting veggies, marinating and grilling meat, and generally thinking ahead) they didn’t take too long to assemble this morning. I’ve decided to try Bentos because I don’t know if I have access to a fridge here at school and I like the idea of visually being reminded to be more balanced in the foods I am eating. Since I generally make The Mathematician’s lunch too, he gets to try bentos by default.
My many thanks go to JustBento.com, which has given me a wealth of ideas and a fabulous weekly bento planner.

Today’s bento contains:
garlic ginger beef
vegetable salad (including broccoli, carrots, red bell peppers, celery, and red leaf lettuce. Lots from the farmers market)
fried potatoes (extra from last night’s dinner)
peaches and mango (covered in a lemon juice/sugar syrup, hopefully to prevent discoloring)

Here are a few pictures of our bentos this morning. Since we don’t have “official” bento boxes yet, we did a bit of improvising.

20120827-090458.jpg

20120827-090506.jpg
One important thing that I learned this morning was packing a bento tightly. I have about a 2 hour commute and things shifted a bit within the compartments that my lunch box had. So now I know…

Leave a comment